Skip to main content

Rush, Kinzinger Lead Illinois Delegation Members in Letter Supporting Disaster Declaration for DuPage County

July 9, 2021

WASHINGTON — Today, U.S. Representatives Bobby L. Rush (D-Ill.) and Adam Kinzinger (R-Ill.) led fourteen Members of the Illinois delegation in a letter to U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Administrator Isabella Guzman supporting Governor J.B. Pritzker's request for an SBA Disaster Declaration for DuPage County as a result of the damage from the tornado that touched down there on June 21.

"The damage assessment conducted this month by the SBA found that 79 properties either incurred major damage or were destroyed as a result of the tornado. Assisting these residents in recovery is of utmost importance, and Governor Pritzker has determined that this incident is of such severity and magnitude that effective response is beyond the capabilities of the state and local governments," the Members wrote.

"As such, we respectfully request that you issue an SBA Disaster Declaration for DuPage County, and we request that the SBA disaster loans also be offered to the counties that are contiguous to the aforementioned county."

In addition to Reps. Rush and Kinzinger, the letter was also signed by U.S. Representatives Mike Bost, Danny K. Davis, Rodney Davis, Bill Foster, Jesús G. "Chuy" García, Robin L. Kelly, Raja Krishnamoorthi, Darin LaHood, Mary E. Miller, Marie Newman, Mike Quigley, and Jan Schakowsky, Brad Schneider, and Lauren Underwood.

The full text of the letter is available HERE.

# # #